• Cumberland Curriculum

    California Common Core State Standards (CCCSS) are learning goals that clearly state which skills and knowledge children should master at each grade level to ensure they will be prepared for post-secondary education and careers after high school. On August 2, 2010, the State Board of Education adopted the CCCSS. CCCSS differ from the standards of prior years because they focus on developing students’ critical thinking and analytical skills — the kind of skills employers and universities demand, and will be necessary for work in the 21st century. Since learning is a developmental process — that is, students must master content and skills at each grade level to be prepared to learn the more demanding concepts presented at higher grades — frequent review and assessment will continue to be critical to ensuring all children are achieving.


    While the CCCSS guide us with what to teach, the standards do not prescribe specific instructional approaches. At Cumberland, grade level teams work together as Professional Learning Communities (PLCs) to design standards-based curriculum maps. Teachers draw upon a multitude of resources in order to design rigorous lessons that build students' knowledge and skills according to the goals set forth by each grade level's set of CCCSS. Sunnyvale School District utilizes a standards-based grading and reporting philosophy and system in order to monitor student learning, inform teaching practices, and communicate progress with students and parents.  

  • A sample of our curriculum resources:
    Click on the images to view associated web sites


    Project Based Learning








    TCRWP - Writing Units of Study

    TCRWP Logo





    Step Up to Writing

    Step Up to Writing Logo







    Fountas & Pinnell Classroom Grades K-3 

    F&P Classroom

    Literature Circles Grades 3-5

    Literature Circles  



    Math Expressions

    Math Expressions Logo